Introduction
The East Coast Railway (ECoR) has issued a centralized notification for the ECoR Act Apprentice Recruitment 2026, offering 1,599 apprenticeship slots across 25 designated trades. Candidates can apply online through the Railway Recruitment Cell, Bhubaneswar portal from 26 August 2026, 5:00 PM to 15 September 2026, 5:00 PM. Selection will be based solely on Matriculation merit, with no written test or interview.
Highlights
| Organisation |
East Coast Railway (ECoR) |
| Post Name |
Act Apprentice (25 designated trades) |
| Total Vacancies |
1,599 |
| Application Mode |
Online only |
| Start Date |
26 August 2026 @ 17:00 hrs |
| Last Date |
15 September 2026 @ 17:00 hrs |
| Official Website |
www.rrcbbs.org.in |
Post & Organization Details
- Organisation: East Coast Railway (ECoR)
- Recruiting Body: Railway Recruitment Cell, Bhubaneswar (RRC/BBS)
- Notification No.: ECoR/Pers/RRC/Act Apprentice/2026-27
- Notification Date: 21 August 2026
- Post Name: Act Apprentice (25 designated trades)
- Total Posts: 1,599
- Apprenticeship Duration: As per Apprentices Act, 1961 (specific duration not stated)
Vacancy Details
| Unit/Establishment |
Departments Covered |
Total Posts |
| Carriage Repair Workshop, Mancheswar, Bhubaneswar |
Mechanical, Electrical |
250 |
| RGDA Division |
Engineering, Electrical, Medical |
292 |
| Khurda Road Division (ELS, Angul & IOH Depot) |
Engineering, S&T, Electrical, Medical, Mechanical |
773 |
| Sambalpur Division (Coaching, BLGR) |
Engineering, S&T, Electrical, Mechanical, Medical |
262 |
| Headquarters, ECoR, Bhubaneswar |
Personnel/Accounts/IT Cell, Medical |
22 |
| Grand Total |
|
1,599 |
Eligibility Criteria
Educational Qualification
- Matriculation (10th Class) under the 10+2 system with a minimum of 50 % aggregate marks from a recognized board, held as on 21 August 2026.
- Technical qualification: Valid ITI certificate in the relevant trade, affiliated to NCVT/SCVT, as per the Apprentices Act, 1961.
- For Laboratory Technician (Pathology): 12th pass (10+2) with Physics, Chemistry & Biology and minimum 50 % in both 10th and 12th.
- For Secretarial Assistant (Stenography): National Trade Certificate (NTC) approved by NCVT/SCVT.
- For Computer Operator & Programming Assistant: Board‑based IT training (hardware/networking) with an NTC approved by NCVT/SCVT.
Age Limit (as on 15 September 2026)
- General: 15 to 24 years
- SC/ST: Upper age limit relaxed by 5 years
- OBC: Upper age limit relaxed by 3 years
- PwBD: Upper age limit relaxed by 10 years
- Ex‑Servicemen: Additional 10 years plus 3 years (minimum 6 months continuous service required)
Pay Scale & Salary
Selected apprentices will receive a monthly stipend as prescribed by the Railway Board from time to time. The exact amount is not specified in the notification. No hostel accommodation is provided.
Application Fee
| Category |
Application Fee |
| General / OBC / EWS (Male) |
₹100 (non‑refundable) |
| SC / ST / PwBD / Women |
Nil |
Fee must be paid online through the integrated payment gateway (Debit Card, Credit Card, UPI, Internet Banking). Transaction charges, if any, are borne by the applicant.
Important Dates
| Notification Date |
21 August 2026 |
| Online Application Opens |
26 August 2026 @ 17:00 hrs |
| Online Application Closes |
15 September 2026 @ 17:00 hrs |
| Age & Eligibility Cut‑off Date |
15 September 2026 |
Selection Process
- Merit list prepared on the basis of Matriculation percentage (minimum 50 % aggregate).
- Percentage calculated using marks of all subjects; CGPA converted to percentage where applicable.
- In case of tie, older candidate gets preference; if DOB same, earlier pass-out gets preference.
- Trade‑wise and community‑wise merit lists are generated.
- Shortlisted candidates are called for Document Verification (DV) at ECoR Headquarters, Bhubaneswar.
- Final selection is subject to verification of original documents and submission of a Medical Fitness Certificate.
- Standby‑list candidates are called only if vacancies remain after verification of selected candidates.
- No TA/DA is paid for Document Verification.
How to Apply
- Visit the official portal: www.rrcbbs.org.in.
- Register as a new user by providing your email and creating a password.
- Log in using the registered credentials.
- Fill in personal details, select the desired trade, enter Aadhaar number, Matriculation marks/CGPA, and choose ONE Division/Workshop (final and binding).
- Upload scanned copies of:
- Photograph (3.5 cm × 3.5 cm, JPG/JPEG, 100 DPI, 20‑70 KB)
- Signature (3.5 cm × 3.5 cm, JPG/JPEG, 100 DPI, 20‑30 KB)
- Matriculation mark sheet & pass certificate
- Relevant ITI mark sheet or National Trade Certificate
- Other category‑specific documents (Caste, Income, Disability, Ex‑Serviceman, etc.)
- Aadhaar card
- Pay the application fee of ₹100 (exempted for SC/ST/PwBD/Women) through the online payment gateway.
- Review all entered information carefully and submit the application.
- After successful submission, download and print the confirmation receipt for future reference.
Important Links
FAQs
- What is the total number of apprenticeship slots?
There are 1,599 slots across 25 trades.
- Is there any written test or interview?
No. Selection is purely based on Matriculation merit.
- What is the application fee for General category candidates?
The fee is ₹100 (non‑refundable). It is waived for SC/ST/PwBD/Women candidates.
- Can I apply for more than one trade?
Yes, if you hold ITI certificates in multiple trades, you may submit separate applications for each trade, but you can select only one Division/Workshop per application.
- When will the merit list be released?
The merit list will be published on the official website after the last date of application, i.e., after 15 September 2026.