Skip to main content
Best Online Test & Government Job Preparation Portal

POWERGRID Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – 270 Vacancies | Power Grid

🏢 POWERGRID 🎓 B.Sc, B.Tech/B.E, Diploma, ITI 📅 Last Date: Not Specified
Share:

ⓘ Quick Details

  • Recruitment Board POWERGRID
  • Qualification B.Sc, B.Tech/B.E, Diploma, ITI
  • Post Date 23 Aug 2026
  • Last Date to Apply Not Specified

Introduction

Power Grid Corporation of India Limited (POWERGRID), a Maharatna enterprise under the Ministry of Power, has announced the POWERGRID Apprentice Recruitment 2026. A total of 270 apprenticeship slots across ten regional establishments are available for a one‑year training period. Applications are accepted online from 25‑08‑2026 to 10‑09‑2026 with no application fee and no written test or interview.

Highlights

Organisation Power Grid Corporation of India Limited (POWERGRID)
Post Name Apprentice (ITI‑Electrician, Diploma Electrical, Diploma Civil, Graduate Electrical, Graduate Civil)
Total Vacancies 270
Application Mode Online
Start Date 25‑08‑2026
Last Date 10‑09‑2026
Official Website www.powergrid.in

Post & Organization Details

  • Organisation: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited (POWERGRID)
  • Post: Apprentice (various trades)
  • Apprenticeship Duration: One year
  • Regions Covered: Northern Region‑I, II, III; Eastern Region‑I, II; North‑Eastern Region; Western Region‑I, II; Southern Region‑I, II

Vacancy Details

Region Reference No. States / UTs Covered Total Posts
Northern Region‑I, Faridabad Apprenticeship/2026-27/NR-I/01 Delhi, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand 35
Northern Region‑II, Jammu NR2/HR/APPRENTICE/2026/01 Jammu & Kashmir, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh, Ladakh 24
Northern Region‑III, Lucknow Apprenticeship/2026-27/NR-III/01 Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand 25
Eastern Region‑I, Patna Apprenticeship/2026-27/ERTS-I/01 Bihar, Jharkhand 20
Eastern Region‑II, Kolkata Apprenticeship/2026-27/ER-II/01 West Bengal, Sikkim 21
North Eastern Region, Shillong NESH/HR/Apprenticeship/2026-27/01 Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura 26
Western Region‑I, Nagpur Apprenticeship/2026-27/WR-I/01 Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Goa 27
Western Region‑II, Vadodara Apprenticeship/2026-27/WR-II/01 Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat 38
Southern Region‑I, Secunderabad Apprenticeship/2026-27/SR-I/01 Telangana, Andhra Pradesh 22
Southern Region‑II, Bengaluru Apprenticeship/2026-27/SR-II/01 Karnataka, Tamil Nadu & Puducherry, Kerala 32
All‑India Total 270

Eligibility Criteria

  • Must have passed the final examination for the relevant trade between 11‑09‑2024 and 10‑09‑2026.
  • Age: Minimum 18 years as of the application date. No maximum age limit specified.
  • Educational Qualification: Must possess the qualification prescribed for the chosen trade (see table below).
  • Medical fitness as per the Apprentices Act, 1961.
  • Only full‑time regular qualifications are accepted; part‑time, correspondence, distance or online modes are not eligible.
  • Applicants with more than 1 year of job experience or who are already undergoing any apprenticeship are ineligible.

Trade‑wise Qualification

Apprenticeship Trade Required Qualification
ITI – Electrician ITI in Electrician trade (full‑time)
Diploma (Civil) Diploma in Civil Engineering (full‑time, 3‑year)
Diploma (Electrical) Diploma in Electrical Engineering (full‑time, 3‑year)
Graduate (Electrical) B.E./B.Tech/B.Sc. (Engg.) in Electrical Engineering (full‑time, 4‑year)
Graduate (Civil) B.E./B.Tech/B.Sc. (Engg.) in Civil Engineering (full‑time, 4‑year) – not notified in SR‑I

Pay Scale & Salary

Apprenticeship Trade Monthly Stipend
ITI – Electrician 13,500
Diploma (Civil) 15,000 (including DBT of ₹5,450)
Diploma (Electrical) 15,000 (including DBT of ₹5,450)
Graduate (Electrical) 17,500 (including DBT of ₹6,150)
Graduate (Civil) 17,500 (including DBT of ₹6,150)

An additional allowance of ₹2,500 per month is payable if company accommodation is not provided or availed. The DBT portion is transferred under the NATS scheme to an Aadhaar‑seeded bank account.

Application Fee

There is no application fee for any category (General, OBC, SC, ST, EWS, PwD).

Important Dates

Notification Date 21‑08‑2026
Online Application Start Date 25‑08‑2026
Online Application Last Date 10‑09‑2026
Qualifying Result Window 11‑09‑2024 to 10‑09‑2026

Selection Process

  1. Screening of applications on the basis of eligibility and prescribed trade qualification.
  2. Ineligible or incomplete applications are rejected without intimation.
  3. Reservation as per SC/ST/OBC(NCL)/PwBD is applied.
  4. Document verification is conducted in a 1:5 ratio (candidates : slots) in merit order.
  5. Shortlisted candidates receive an email for document verification; no TA/DA is provided.
  6. Final merit list is prepared after successful verification.
  7. Selected candidates must accept a tripartite apprenticeship contract.

How to Apply

  1. Visit the official POWERGRID recruitment portal (link provided in the “Important Links” section).
  2. Register using a valid email address and mobile number.
  3. Fill in personal, educational and trade‑specific details.
  4. Upload scanned copies of the following documents:
    • Passport‑size photograph (JPEG, ≤ 200 KB)
    • Signature (JPEG, ≤ 200 KB)
    • Marksheets & certificates for the relevant trade
    • Proof of age (DOB) – birth certificate, school leaving certificate, etc.
    • Category certificate (if applicable)
    • DBT‑enabled bank account details (Aadhaar‑linked)
  5. Review the entered information carefully and submit the application before the last date.
  6. After submission, note down the application reference number for future correspondence.

Important Links

Official Notification PDF wView Here
Apply Online Apply here
Official Website www.powergrid.in

FAQs

  1. What is the last date to submit the application?
    The online application must be submitted on or before 10‑09‑2026.
  2. Is there any application fee?
    No. The application fee is nil for all categories.
  3. Can I apply for more than one region?
    No. Candidates are required to apply for only one region/state of their choice.
  4. What documents are required for document verification?
    Photograph, signature, relevant qualification certificates, proof of age, category certificate (if applicable), and a DBT‑enabled bank account details.
  5. Is there any written test or interview?
    No. Selection is based solely on eligibility, merit screening and document verification.

Ready to Crack Your Dream Government Job?

Join 50,000+ students preparing with TestCrate's expert mock tests and live classes.

Start Preparing for Free →